Each year the Connecticut Chapter of the American Planning Association invites nominations for its annual Planning Awards to showcase outstanding projects, people and places.

Recurring awards include the Bruce Hoben Distinguished Service Award given in memory of Bruce Hoben, whose selfless involvement with and longtime leadership in the Chapter along with his many contributions to the practice of planning in Connecticut, truly exemplify the spirit of distinguished service.

Congratulations to the recipients of 2020 awards:

Placemaking: City of Torrington, “Franklin Plaza”     ​

Adaptive Re-Use: Town of Windsor Locks, “Montgomery Mill”     ​

Planning for Wireless Technology: Western CT Council of Governments,  “Wireless Communications Task Force”​

Tactical Urbanism: Town of West Hartford, “West Hartford Center – Outdoor Dining”​

RuraI Regional Economic Strategy: Northwest Hills Council of Governments, “Annual CEDS Update and Performance Report” publication ​

Planning with Future Planners: City of Bridgeport – Make the Road CT, “Youth Power Committee”​

Project Planning: City of Bridgeport, “Resilient Bridgeport” ​

Downtown Revitalization Strategy: City of Norwich,  “Bond Program Assessment”​

Watch the 2020 Awards Program

Prior Year Recipients


  • Global Cities Norwich
  • The City of Bridgeport- Plan Bridgeport
  • BOROUGH 492 (Hamden Business Incubator)
  • Town of Canton- Plan of Conservation and Development Implementation
  • Bruce Hoben Distinguished Service Award- Alan Weiner
  • Special Chapter Award- Mike Piscitelli

  • 2018




    2013 & 2014

    Previous Years