The Executive Board consists of the Chapter's elected officers, appointed committee chairs and members-at-large. The Board typically meets six times a year.


Emmeline Harrigan, AICP

Emmeline Harrigan serves as the Chapter's President. Emmeline is Assistant Planning Director for the Town of Fairfield and served for several years as Chair of the Connecticut Association of Floodplain Managers.

Past President

Michael Piscitelli, AICP

Mike Piscitelli serves as the Deputy Economic Development Administrator for the City of New Haven. Economic Development coordinates the work of seven city departments. He previously served as the City’s Comprehensive Planner in the City Plan Department. From there, Mike served as the first Director of a reorganized Transportation, Traffic and Parking Department with a mission to enhance the City’s transportation assets into a sustainable and integrated system.


Abigail Kenyon, AICP

Abigail Kenyon is the Director of Community Development with the Town of Granby. She previously worked as an Assistant Town Planner with the Town of Windsor and a Regional Planner at the Central Connecticut Regional Planning Agency. She holds a Masters of City and Regional Planning from Ohio State University. Abby previously served as CCAPA Secretary.


Savannah-Nicole Villalba, AICP

Savannah-Nicole (SN) Villalba is the Senior Regional Planner for Housing and Integrated Development for the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

Professional Development Officer

Jeremy DeCarli, AICP

Jeremy DeCarli is the Planning and Zoning Official for the Town of East Hampton and has a masters degree in Geography from CCSU.

Co-Chair, Government Relations

John Guszkowski, AICP, LEED-AP, ENV-SP

John Guszkowski co-leads the Chapter's very active Government Relations Committee - advocating on behalf of the Chapter and planning at the Connecticut General Assembly. John is Lead Planner in the Community Development Group of the consulting firm CME Associates, Inc. based in Storrs, CT. John’s work has spanned numerous sectors of planning, including work as a regional planner with CRCOG, a full-time staff planning director in Woodstock and Thompson, a consulting planner for the Towns of Essex, Clinton, and Hampton, lead planner for special studies in Wethersfield, Manchester, Derby, Brooklyn, and Putnam, and a project manager for numerous private development projects across southern New England. John has also led the nonprofit group Connecticut Resource Conservation & Development Council as chairman for the past 15 years.

Co-Chair, Government Relations

Kyle Shiel

Kyle Shiel is a Senior Planner at the Capitol Region Council of Governments.

Communications Committee Chair/CT Planning Editor

Amanda E. Kennedy, AICP

Amanda Kennedy is Deputy Director at the Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments (SCCOG), directing strategic projects related to housing, community development, resiliency, and collaboration. She joined SCCOG in 2015 after working as Connecticut Director for the Regional Plan Association in Stamford/New York City, and Development Coordinator for The Simon Konover Company in West Hartford. Amanda holds a B.A. from Yale University and a Master of City and Regional Planning degree from Rutgers University. As Communications Chair, Amanda is the editor of CCAPA's quarterly magazine, CT Planning. Amanda also serves on the Boards of the Connecticut Main Street Center and Southeastern Ct Enterprise Region (seCTer).

Membership Chair

Michelle Andrzejewski

Michelle Andrzejewski is a Senior Planner with the City of Norwalk. She holds a Masters in Energy and Environmental Management from Uconn.

SNEAPA Committee Chair

Marek Kozikowski, AICP

Marek Kozikowski is the Director of Land Use for the City of Middletown. He previously served as Town Planner for the Town of Berlin, as Senior Planner for the Town of Greenwich, and as an Assistant Transportation Planner for the Midstate Regional Planning Agency. He holds both a Master of Public Administration and a Master of Arts in Economics from the University of Connecticut


Jeanne Davies, AICP

Jeanne Davies, AICP, is Executive Director of the CT RC&D (Connecticut Resource Conservation and Development Area). She has enjoyed working on Connecticut’s SNEAPA Committee for several Connecticut sponsored conferences. Prior to RC&D, Jeanne worked as Deputy Director and Principal Planner for the Lower CT River Valley Council of Governments for fifteen years and has over 28 years of experience in community and regional land use, transportation, environmental, and emergency management planning.


Patrice Carson

Patrice Carson has been a public sector planner throughout her career.  She first worked as a Regional Planner in Western Massachusetts and then became a Town Planner in Connecticut for the majority of her career.  She now serves as a Consultant Planner serving towns needing interim assistance, currently with the Town of Bolton, CT.  Patrice has served on the CCAPA Executive Committee for over 20 years, some of that time as a member of the Program Committee, which she also chaired.


Robert A. Phillips, AICP

Rob is the Director of Planning and Community Development for the Town of Southington, CT. He holds both a Master of Public Administration (MPA) and a Master of Science (MS) in Natural Resources from the University of Connecticut. He previously served as Town Planner for the Town of Ellington, and as Treasurer of CCAPA.


Meghan Sloan, AICP

Meghan A. Sloan, AICP is the Planning Director for the Connecticut Metropolitan Council of Governments (MetroCOG), which serves the Greater Bridgeport area in Southwestern Connecticut. Ms. Sloan is involved in MetroCOG’s Transportation, Natural Hazard Mitigation, Conservation, Economic Development and Brownfields programs. Ms. Sloan holds a Masters of Science in Urban Studies from Southern Connecticut State University and a Bachelor of Arts in Fine Arts from Marist College.


Dr. Don Poland

Don is a human geographer (social and spatial scientist) and planner with over twenty-five years’ experience in land use planning, economic development, housing, real estate, and community development. Dr. Poland is accepted as an expert witness in the areas of land use planning, neighborhood redevelopment, and community development in the United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana. He is a member of the American Association of Geographers, American Planning Association, and American Institute of Certified Planners. He is a Past-President of the Connecticut Chapter of the American Planning Association.


Jonathan J. Reiner, AICP

Jon Reiner currently serves as the Director of the Office of Planning and Development Services for the Town of Groton, Connecticut.  Jon has been working as a municipal planner for twenty years.  He holds a Bachelors of Arts degree with a double major in Marine Affairs and Political Science from the University of Rhode Island.  He also received a Masters of Community Planning and a Masters in Marine Affairs, both from URI.  Jon has been focusing on changing the way Groton approaches development and he and his team are doing their best to make Groton a great place to live and to do business.


Christopher J. Smith, Esq.

Christopher J. Smith is a land use attorney with the firm Alter & Pearson, and has an extensive statewide legal practice involving zoning, planning and wetlands matters with municipal and state agencies on behalf of property owners, developers, businesses, municipalities and citizen associations. Mr. Smith participates in ethics training for the Connecticut Chapter of the American Planning Association’s American Institute of Certified Planners’ program.